Monday, 13 December 2010

More end of year music news

The BBC have named the longlist for the Sound of 2011 prize. The 15 were chosen by 161 industry insiders who were chosen to pick three acts each. Each act could not have had a UK top 20 single or album and must not have been already 'famous'.

The award has already been scooped up by a few once hidden gems such as: Adele and Corinne Bailey Rae but has also had some inexplicable years with The Bravery and Keane being alumni of the award.

The longlist consists of:

James Blake
Anna Calvi
Esben & the Witch
Jessie J
Clare Maguire
The Naked & Famous
Jai Paul
The Vaccines
Jamie Woon
Wretch 32

The top 5 will be announced on the week commencing the 3rd January