Wednesday, 1 August 2012

Man Booker Prize - longlist

Described as a more literary list than previous years, the Man Booker Prize longlist has been announced.

Martin Amis ("Lionel Asbo"), Ian McEwan ("Sweet Tooth") and John Banville ("Ancient Light") are the notable exceptions from the longlist which had been criticised last year for not including books with enough 'readability'.

The longlist is as follows:
  • Nicola Barker - The Yips
  • Ned Beauman - The Teleportation Accident
  • Andre Brink - Philida
  • Tan Twan Eng - The Garden of Evening Mists
  • Michael Frayn - Skios
  • Rachel Joyce - The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry
  • Deborah Levy - Swimming Home
  • Hilary Mantel - Bring Up the Bodies
  • Alison Moore - The Lighthouse
  • Will Self - Umbrella
  • Jeet Thayil - Narcopolis
  • Sam Thompson - Communion Town 
The 6 author shortlist is to be announced on 11th September 2012 with the winner being announced on 16th October 2012.